Ward 4

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Ward 4Commissioner Roger B. Marietta

Ward IV
2008 Robinhood Rd
Albany, GA 31707
Home: 229-878-0944
Office: 229-317-6808
Cell: 229-894-2425

Roger Marietta was elected as Ward 4 Commissioner in November 2007.  He took office in January 2008 for a four-year term; on January 9, 2012 he was sworn-in for another four-year term, which expired January, 2016. Commissioner Marietta was re-elected to a third term in 2015 which expires in 2020.  He currently serves on the Dougherty County Board of Health and the Economic Development Commission.

As a Commissioner, his major accomplishments include business friendly inititiaves such as reduced property taxes, revised sign ordinance, and streamlining new business applications.  He has been appointed to the Economic Development Commission where he was trained in Regional Leadership and Economic Development. and has been instrumental in several job creation initiatives.  He helped balance budgets, reduced property taxes, create the  311 Customer Service initiative, the successful gang task force, helped the Fire Department through funding initiatives to lower Albany's ISO rating to 2 and saving property owners on fire insurance costs, worked to improve health insurance to employees, and shaped the SPLOST VII list of projects that will fix infrastructure, promote economic development, improve public safety by upgrading the APD and AFD equipment and technology, and improve the quality of life in Albany.

As a member of the Board of Health he has helped to educate the public on pressing health issues and contributed to revitalizing the infrastructure that serves the health needs of Southwest Georgia.  Commissioner Marietta served on the City of Albany Pension Board of Trustees from January 9, 2012- January 8, 2018 and he also serves as an alternate member on the Chehaw Park Authority and actively attends and supports "our Chehaw".

From 1992 until the present, Commissioner Marietta serves as an Associate Professor of Political Science  at Albany State University West Campus formerly known as Darton College.